top of page
  • mwoodley71

Art Assignment #1

Updated: Sep 23, 2020

Our prompt for this assignment was "Line". Further more, we were also given a Michelle Obama quote to inspire us.

"You may not always have a comfortable life and you will not always be able to solve all the world's problems at once but don't ever underestimate the importance you can have because history has shown us that courage and hope can take on a life of it's own."


I've been drawing face portraits a lot recently so I wanted that to be incorporated in my piece. I was also inspired by the quote given to us. In the quote, Michelle says how hope and courage can take on a life of it's own and that motivated me to draw my own version of hope and courage. The two people in the piece have colorful shapes across their faces which I see as hope and courage coming to life within those people. To include the main prompt (lines), I drew shapes, more circular, around the faces because shapes are just lines connected. When debating whether to do the lines or shapes around the face, I decided to do the shapes because I felt it looked better fitted to the faces and pulled attention to the line aspect on the faces, while just the lines would of been too sparse on the faces. Overall, I am very happy with how the piece came out. On the top and bottom, I drew a close up of an eye and a lip to add some more elements to the piece. I chose a lip and an eye because I like specifically drawing those elements of the face and I observed that the shapes looked best on those areas. When deciding where to put the shapes on the page in my piece I used the element and principle of design of balance and harmony to make sure that the viewer didn’t see it as too much or overwhelming but a nice balance of all the different color and size shapes. I developed the image in the planning stage and after I was done the first try by being able to identify what I liked about the piece and what I thought could change. I added more color to create a bolder and more contrasted look so the piece would pop out of the page more. Throughout the process of creating the piece, I made sure to take a step back and look at it through the eye of the viewer and ask myself is it what I want the viewer to see? I feel that in the end I created a piece that is engaging to the eye with the simplistic colors that makes the shapes pop out at you but still blend well with the black and white sketches that serve as a second canvas for the more prominent shapes. After looking back at the assignment criteria, I saw that we could also include "point" as a design element to our piece. Learning this, I decided to go back and add pointillism to the inside of the shapes on the faces. I loved how this turned out and how it added texture and depth to the shapes.


Reflecting on the First People's ways of Learning:

I’ve for the First People’s ways of Learning to reflect on their saying that, “Learning ultimately supports the well-being of the self.” I felt that this connects to my piece and this time of living in a pandemic because I used this assignment to relax and focus my mind on something else than worrying about Covid-19. I feel like this piece was important to my personal well-being because I use art as an escape from any worries or stress and to focus on something better for my well-being especially with everything happening in the world today. I used this art assignment to look into the sad and angry thoughts in my brain and use it as a way to channel those emotions into my art which is a great way to vent.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page