top of page
  • mwoodley71

Art Assignment #2

The prompts for this assignment were value, shape and form, emphasis and point of view. As well as this quote, "Most people think that shadows follow, precede or surround beings or objects. The truth is they surround words, desires, deeds, impulses and memories.


Here is my first planning page for the piece. I wanted to create a collage of shapes and forms, involving demons, relating to the quote of how shadows of your past can follow you and your mind. At the bottom of the page I included some inspiration art works done by Stuart Davis who used shapes layered to create his final

piece, which I wanted to adopt into mine.








On this page, I brainstormed what elements/shapes I wanted to include in the piece. I knew from the beginning I wanted to include a brain somewhere in the final piece. I wanted to include it because the brain is what holds our worst demons/shadows that surround our memories and thoughts and follow us. I had three different ideas to incorporate, shown in the top to middle of the page. In the end, I decided to have the brain holding half the page to the right and the other shapes branching out from the brain. At the bottom of the page I brainstormed how I wanted the demon shapes to look like as I wanted to incorporate those as well. I decided that each one would looks different shading wise, as you can see from the two example demons.


In process shot:



The Final Result:

When deciding where to put the shapes on the page in my piece I used the element and principle of design of balance and harmony to make sure that the viewer didn’t see it as too much or overwhelming but a nice balance of all the different color and size shapes. I developed the image in the planning stage and after I was done the first try by being able to identify what I liked about the piece and what I thought could change. I added more color to create a bolder and more contrasted look so the piece would pop out of the page more. I showed my attention in process to detail in my planning pages and how I drew out a rough draft design of what I saw in my head and commented on what I could refine and change and then went on to adjust that in my final piece, even adding the elements of color in the end. I used my studio space to go through multiple different ways on where it put each shape and how to see what I liked best before putting it onto the final piece. Throughout the process of creating the piece, I made sure to take a step back and look at it through the eye of the viewer and ask myself is it what I want the viewer to see? I feel that in the end I created a piece that is engaging to the eye with the simplistic colors that makes the shapes pop out at you but still blend well with the black and white sketches that serve as a second canvas for the more prominent shapes.












1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page