top of page
  • mwoodley71

Grade 10 Term 1 Core Competencies

How the core competencies relate to my artwork in my visual journal for this term.


Communication: I use my communication core competencies in my visual journal through the small reflections I wrote about each artwork I finished. I communicated in these reflections things like my inspiration, references, art skills I used, acquired and practiced, color choices and meaning behind the work. I was able to interpret my own drawings and work from other artists and communicate that in writing. I can present these in a neat and presentable way. I also use my communication skills to reflect on experiences and put that into my artwork as inspiration.


Creative thinking: I use my creative thinking skills to generate and develop ideas in my sketchbook. Before I start any drawing or piece, I always have to use my creative thinking skills to generate an idea of what to draw and how. Sometimes I'll show this in my sketchbook using a planning page, for example; the very first page in my journal, which was a planning and brainstorming page for what to paint on the front and back cover. Next I take that idea and use my creative thinking skills to develop that idea into final piece. For example, before I started a bigger watercolor piece, I started by doing two smaller practice watercolor drawing to get warmed up to the medium before starting a larger version.


Critical Thinking: I use my critical thinking skills to analyze and critique my own drawings. After I am finished creating a piece, I write a small reflection beside it. The reflection is me analyzing and critiquing my own art. I also use my critical thinking skills to help me think of ideas for art, to design a piece and then develop the idea into something I can put in my journal.


How the First People’s Principles of Learning relate to my art in my visual journal this term.


My art relates to some of the First People’s Principles of Learning. The First People say learning involves recognizing the consequences of one’s actions which can relate to my art because art is about making mistakes and learning from them. When I’m doing my art, I always make mistakes. I use these mistakes and learn from them, knowing what to do next time to perfect my work. I believe this is what the First People are talking about when they say learning involves recognizing the consequences of one’s actions, which is the same as me recognizing my mistakes and the consequences of them. The consequences of my artwork mistakes can be that it can’t be erased, you can’t erase some mediums of art (like paint). The consequences can be that I need to learn to embrace the mistakes, and turn it into something new. The First Peoples also say learning involves patience and time. This relates to art because you need to have a lot of patience, whether it is waiting for the paint to dry to work over it in layers or not rushing your work, in brush strokes and lines. I use patience in my visual journal when it comes to painting. I am a very impatient person and this causes me to rush into my painting and not wait for the paint to dry before trying to go over it in another color. This can be bad because if the paint is not dry yet and you try to go over it in another color, the colors blend together into one brownish looking color. So patience is an area I need to improve in and it can help to remember what the First People say, which is learning involves patience and time.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page