top of page
  • mwoodley71

Grade 10 Year Final Summative Reflection

Looking back at my long art goals

Short term goal - practice with watercolors: I feel that I put a lot of effort into completing this goal. I have done 15 different works, small and big, with watercolors. From the beginning of the year to the end, I feel I've improved with using this art medium. I dd a lot of nature and landscape work with watercolors and my goal next year is to expand my work into different painting subjects for water-coloring. I've learned that my own watercolors aren't the best for blending, which you can see in my earlier watercolor works, and I have had more success with the Southridge art room watercolors. My favorite and in my opinion, my best watercolor piece was the hibiscus flower painting I made for my Grandmother in Term 2. The colors were well blended and the shading and texture draw made the flower look more realistic than past attempts a nature watercolor works.


Mid term goal - get better at free styling and being messy with my art: Before this year in art, I worked a lot on reference photos and creating a strict outline and relied on them. this year I worked on my goal of free styling by letting my mind go and putting the brush to the paper, not over thinking my mistakes. I did this during the ink portion of the course. I didn't look at any references or planned out the look heavily before starting and it resulted in me having a lot more fun and a piece with a lot more movement and creativity.


Long term - Learn more art styles and research new artists: Throughout the year, I tried many new interesting art styles. In term 1 I tried doing graphic art with the medium of ink. I found a new love of the art style of graphic art and found I really enjoyed playing with creating new cartoon characters and drawing forms, hands and bodies, in a graphic art style. This year we also worked a lot with continuous line which I also found a new love for. It's now one of my go to art styles when I'm creating something. I have also done many artist studies this year, which you can find in other blog posts titled Artist Studies (then artist's name inserted). I did studies on Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Emily Carr, the Group of Seven, Keith Harrington and a little on Cindy Sherman. For each, I wrote up on the artist, their background, inspiration and art style. Then I also tried my hand at recreating one of their pieces that I liked to experiment with different art styles.

12 views1 comment

1 Comment


jasmin anderson
jasmin anderson
Mar 06

Struggling with your reflection paper related assignments can be daunting, but fear not! My Assignment Services  is your go-to destination for comprehensive Reflection paper that goes above and beyond. Our team of seasoned writers understands the intricacies of crafting compelling reflection paper samples that captivate readers and earn top grades. Whether you need assistance with brainstorming ideas, structuring your paper, conducting thorough research, or polishing your final draft, we're here to provide personalized support every step of the way.

Like
bottom of page